Lock my love at Pond des Arts

Posted on Updated on

Mother nature has been so kind to us. Yesterday, she gave us another sunny day in Paris. Without thinking twice, I went out for a long walk with my hubby.

We chose to walk around Ile de la Cité. It is such a beautiful and romantic area. It’s full of positive vibes. It’s packed with people from around the world, tourist, lovers, artists, musicians. You will always see couples hugging or hear beautiful music whenever you walk there. It’s like adding a background music and love vibes to your day. I love it.

As we walked around, we crossed a wooden bridge called Pont des Arts. It looked normal in the beginning until I noticed its strong golden colors on its sides. I took a closer look and I found this:

Thousands of Padlocks locked on the metal railings of the bridge. The view is fascinating.

I wondered for a while what could be the reason of these locks because I’ve noticed more locks on other bridges as well and I never knew the idea behind them. So! I asked my personal adviser, Mr. Google about this matter, and he gave me this article to read.

These padlocks represent eternal love. Couples write their names on the padlock, lock it to the bridge and throw the key into the Seine River as a symbol of their eternal love. In fact, while I was there, I saw around 3 couples locking their love padlocks to the bridge and throwing their key away.

To add to the romance, a musician was playing beautiful music on the bridge to add a romantic ambiance for everyone. It was awesome.


Many people were taking photos of the bridge, or with the padlocks. The idea is symbolic, it’s romantic, whether it makes sense or not.

To be honest, I think it leaves a sweet memory for couples to have all their lives. You never know, maybe one day when they are old and gray, they can come visit the memory they once shared.

Here are some close up pictures:






Read more about the history of Padlocks and locations here.

Cheers,

Seine River

3 thoughts on “Lock my love at Pond des Arts

    jalal michael sabbagh said:
    October 26, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    Amazing post .The locks in my opinion represent those heart which don’t want to open for love.l was in Paris in 2009 but l missed the spot.Regards.

      thisiswaf responded:
      October 26, 2012 at 8:22 pm

      Thank you! It’s too bad you missed it, make sure to visit it the next time you come to Paris. It’s really something to see and the vibe is magical.

    Getting to walk you.. | This is Waf said:
    November 10, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    […] I continued my walk. I saw series of bridges around Cite Island. Exactly where Pond des Art Bridge is located. Each has a different vibe, light and colors. I tried taking some long exposure shots […]

Leave a Reply

